Australia Arbitration

  • Home
  • Australia Arbitration

 Australia Arbitration

Australia is a contracting state to the ICSID Convention:

  • Signature: 24 March 1975
  • Deposit of Ratification: 2 May 1991
  • Entry into Force of ICSID Convention: 1 June 1991
  • On 2 May 1991, pursuant to Article 25(3) of the ICSID Convention, Australia designated 7 Constituent Subdivisions/Agencies as competant to be parties to an ICSID arbitration: 1) State of New South Wales; 2) State of Victoria; 3) State of Queensland; 4) State of South Australia; 5) State of Tasmania; 6) Northern Territory; 7) Australian Capital Territory. On making the designation, Australia also notified ICSID, that Federal Australian approval would not be required for consents by the aforementioned 7 Subdivisions to submit disputes to ICSID.
  • Pursuant to Article 54(2) of the ICSID Convention, Australia has designated "the Supreme Court of New South Wales, the Supreme Court of Victoria, the Supreme Court of Queensland, the Supreme Court of Western Australia, the Supreme Court of South Australia, the Supreme Court of Tasmania, the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory and the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory" as competent for the recognition and enforcement of ICSID awards within their respective jurisdictions.
  • Pursuant to Article 69 of the ICSID Convention, Australia enacted the ICSID Implementation Act 1990 (Act No. 107 of 1990) to make the Convention effective in their jurisdiction.
  • Pursuant to Article 13(1) of the ICSID Convention Australia has made the following panel designations effective until 7 July 2016:
    - Hon. Neil BROWN, QC: Former Minister Federal Government of Australia 
    - Mr. Ian HANGER, QC: Director, Australian Dispute Centre
    - Mr. Henry JOLSON, QC: Chairman, Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee of the Law Council of Australia; 
    - Hon. Sir Laurence STREET, AC KCMG: Former Chief Justice of New South Wales
    - Dr. Gavan GRIFFITH, AO QC: Former Solicitor-General of Australia
    - Prof. Doug JONES: President, Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration; Vice President, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London
    - Hon. Michael KIRBY: Former Justice, High Court
    - Prof. Michael C. PRYLES: Chairman, Singapore International Arbitration Centre

Australia is a contracting state to the New York Convention:

  • Date of Accession: 26 March 1975
  • Entry into Force: 24 June 1975

In 2010, Australia enacted legislation based on the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration as amended in 2006 and is therefore now popularly considered to be an UNCITRAL Model Law State

Australia is a Contracting State to both the 1899 & 1907 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes:

  • 1899 Entry into Force: 1 April 1960 
  • 1907 Entry into Force: 21 February 1997

Australia is a United Nations Member State:

  • Date of Admission:  1 November 1945

Official State Name: Commonwealth of Australia

Official Language: None, English (de facto)

Capital: Canberra

Largest City: Sydney

Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)

Time Zone: (UTC+8 to +10.5)

International Calling Code: +61

Internet TLD: .au

Coming soon.


International Arbitration News

27 Jun, 2013
Caratube Oil Company and its Majority Shareholder Devincci ...

WSAV-TV Savannah Georgia: Breaking News, Weather, Sports,and Lifestyle Read More

27 Jun, 2013
Power Distributor EVN Commences Arbitration Proceedings against ...

Power distributor EVN AG has has initiated international arbitration ... of Investment Disputes (ICSID), which forms part of the World Bank group. Read More

26 Jun, 2013
Stays of enforcement not automatic at ICSID - News - Arbitration ...

In a break with previous practice at ICSID, two ad hoc committees in recent months have refused to grant a stay of enforcement of an award pending the outcome Read More

ICSID Lawyers by Region